Severus Snape

Disclaimer: I barely know Snape. Actually, I know him as an awesome character from the Harry Potter movie franchise – nothing more, nothing less. So please don’t kill me.

snape-tribute

A professor at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, wearing black robes. A man that carries the presence of intimidation among students. A genius wizard who called himself as the Half Blood Prince. A hero on the shadows.

I don’t really consider myself as a fan of the Harry Potter franchise, as a matter of fact, I haven’t read any of its book. I just got to know the universe through my older sister, which on her younger years, she was a die hard. I’ve known Snape only through the HP movie installments, with the portrayal of Alan Rickman.

I’m creating this entry to praise the character based on the movie adaptation – so please don’t kill me Harry Potter fans. At first I’ve never given this character much of attention, but after watching the revelation of his true motive of his actions on the final installment of the franchise, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, I was really stunned. It never have gotten to my head that this character, a professor that showed lack of apathy, is actually a hero. I’ve never imagined that all of his actions were all about protecting the titular character’s ass.

J.K. Rowling definitely made a haunting character of my generation, and also with the help of Rickman’s performance – he just nailed it!

PS: Well to be honest, I kind of thinking his character is somewhat similar to Uchiha Itachi of the Naruto franchise.

One thought on “Severus Snape

Leave a Reply

