Gen. Espina

Gen. Espina, term that happened to get into the #trending at Twitter (here in the Philippines). The term was referring to the emotional delivery of a message by General Leonardo Espina, the acting officer in charge of the country’s police force, during the House of Congress – Lower House Inquiry about the PNP-SAF botched operation on Mamasapano, Maguindanao.

“Walang ibang magsasalita dito para sa mga tao kundi ako. Wala pong ibang inaasahan itong namatay na itong kwarentay kwatro kundi po tayong lahat. Bigyan naman natin ng hustisya at magpakatotoo sana tayo rito. Hindi po pupuwedeng lagi ganito. I seek answers for my people so that when I die and when my time comes that I have to face them at least I can say something…” –Gen. Espina

I don’t really know this general. And I have no interest of any sort to know more about him. But seeing a man in a uniform, emotionally expressing what he is seeking – just like a father begging for justice for his murdered son, it’s quite stunning. I commend his message for all the people involved on the said incident that killed 44 of country’s elite police men. His words were simple, yet you could feel his sincerity and desire for justice.

Here’s the video of his message during the inquiry of the Lower House:

Here’s the link for the full text of his message.

My men I tell you buhay na buhay yan. Hindi niyo man lang pinauwi kasama ng kanyang mga anak. Dapat fair play lang ho lahat. That’s what I want, that’s what I request. Fairness and justice for my men. Maraming salamat po. –Gen. Espina

I salute you Gen. Espina for what you expressed, and I hope these words will be granted for the sake of those 44 heroes who died serving the country.

Leave a Reply

